Under the Oklahoma Sex Offender Registration Act, individuals who are convicted of sex offenses involving children or minors face restrictions regarding where they can live. The sex offender registry also provides notifications to communities about registered sex offenders who are living in the area. Moreover, even if you were registered in another state, Oklahoma’s laws require you to register again in Oklahoma if you live here.
When a person is convicted of a sex crime, his or her need for legal counsel extends beyond litigation. A first-time offender or person untrained in living within the restrictions may need experienced lawyers to educate him or her about how the registry will affect him or her.
At M.K. Bailey Law Offices, we know that the law can be confusing, and we know the penalties can be severe for failing to follow the registration guidelines. When we talk with you, we will leave the legal jargon in the law books. We help individuals throughout Oklahoma City comply with sex offender registration guidelines or provide counsel in removal petitions.
What Does Sex Offender Registration Include?
The rules and stipulations surrounding the registry are plentiful and specific. The specific penalties that individuals who are on the sex offender registration face can include:
- Residency restrictions that stringently limit housing
- “SEX OFFENDER” imprinted on driver’s license
- GPS tracking ankle monitor
- Employment limitations
- Mandatory biannual polygraph exams
- Notifying and obtaining written permission from religious/spiritual leaders to attend services
- Continued address verification with local law enforcement
- Submission to DNA testing
- Notification of address change, employment change or termination
- Notification of change in student enrollment status
Most individuals who are convicted of a sex crime in the state are required to register as a sex offender upon completion of their prison sentence. The duration of mandated sex offender registration varies by the risk the offender poses to the community, but ranges from 15 years to a lifetime.
One Size Does Not Necessarily Fit All
Even if you or someone you love has been forced to register as a sex offender, you may not be required to follow every single one of the above limitations. Depending on your circumstances, you have the right to ask the court to modify some of the existing rules. Our law firm regularly represents people seeking to modify the terms of their sex offender registry. We can show the court why some restrictions should not apply to you. In fact, our firm has been successful in modifying these rules on many occasions.
What Happens If Sex Offender Registration Is Violated?
Consequences vary depending on what part of the registry was violated. However, any violation of any provision — including failure to register — can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Not registering is an automatic federal-level felony, which is punishable by up to 10 years of imprisonment and a hefty fine.
Sex crime cases sometimes never really close, and Oklahoma laws and bills regarding the matter can change at any time. If you are accused of a sex crime in the state, we recommend you choose an attorney in Oklahoma who is deeply versed in sex crime law. Learn more about the counsel we provide by scheduling a free initial consultation. We can be reached through an online contact form or by calling 405-486-9789.