There are a variety of drug offenses that can be charged in the state of Oklahoma. Conviction of the possession or distribution of marijuana carries penalties that depend on the amount of drugs that are found at the time of arrest. The punishment can also be dependent on whether it is a first offense or second offense.
If there is a first offense for possession, it is not classified as a felony. Instead, there is a one year incarceration and zero monetary fine. After the first offense, possession may be classified as a felony. A two to 10 year period of imprisonment may be levied against a defendant who is found guilty. As with first time offenders, there is no monetary fine associated with the offense.
The sale and distribution of marijuana is always classified as a felony regardless of the amount. If the sale is less than 25 pounds, a defendant may be subject to between two years and life. There may also be a $20,000 fine that must be paid. If the sale is between 25 and 1,000 pounds, a defendant may be subject to between four years and life with $100,000 fine. If more than 1,000 pounds of marijuana is found, there is also a four years to life imprisonment potential. The fine is $500,000.
Possession of paraphernalia is classified as a misdemeanor. A first, second and third offense are all subject to one year in prison. A first offense may carry a $1,000 fine. A conviction for a second offense may carry a $5,000 fine. A third offense may carry a $10,000 fine. Any defendant who is facing a drug offense should seek qualified legal counsel to protect their legal interests.
Source: Norml, "Oklahoma Laws & Penalties," last visited June 13, 2015