Taking something that doesn’t belong to you is not a violent crime per se, although modernized forms of the act have exposed Oklahomans to a new level of vulnerability, creating a larger need for protection. Subsequently, Oklahoma’s recourse for revised statutes regarding theft, robbery, and burglary has spun more strict laws and punishments for the accused.
The act of theft takes place under the pretense that no one else is around or aware of what is happening. Because the individual committing the deed doesn’t want to leave any appearance of criminal activity, plain theft usually does not involve break-ins, violence, or threats.
- Traditional theft involves the unlawful taking of something tangible. It encompasses an unlimited scope of items: animal, property, gas, building, vehicle, etc. Oklahoma’s punishments for those found guilty vary based on the circumstances and objects stolen; fine, jail time, or combination of both.
- Identity theft happens when someone’s name, address, birthdate, place of employment, account numbers, or identification are used or sold without their permission. In Oklahoma, whether the victim is alive or deceased, identity theft is a felony, punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison and a fine.
Theft is considered burglary when someone forcibly enters a building with intent of illegally gaining possession of something. Whether the entrance is as major as breaking a window or as quiet as picking a lock, burglars generally try to avoid attracting attention. Oklahoma statutes that govern burglary and robbery charges are severe for punishment and often involve additional charges such as trespassing.
- Burglary in the 1st degree is punishable by 7 to 20 years of prison time.
- Burglary in the 2nd degree is punishable by 2 to 7 years of prison time.
Robbery and Theft
Whether a robbery involves a single victim or a building of bystanders, confrontation by force or threat of violence is created to illegally obtain possession of something. The element of fear is so prevalent in this type of stealing, that the penalties for those found guilty are strict in Oklahoma, whether bystanders are injured or not.
- Robbery in the 1st degree warrants a minimum of 10 years in prison.
- Robbery in the 2nd degree warrants a maximum of 10 years in prison.
If you have been indicted for one of these crimes in the state of Oklahoma, you are likely facing prison time. Seek optimum counsel and representation by a criminal defense attorney. Tulsa is amongst one the cities to have experienced a wave of theft cases recently, and M.K. Bailey Law Offices has built strong defenses for our clients accused in the 1st degree, as well as handled cases involving civil action charges for accessory to theft.